Society for the Teaching of Psychology: Division 2 of the American Psychological Association

STP Mentorship of Teachers Award

The Society for the Teaching of Psychology (STP; Division 2 of the American Psychological Association) invites applications for the Mentorship of Teachers Award. Consistent with our Mission Statement and the Statement on Addressing Systemic Racism and Inequity in STP, we encourage applications from colleagues who are from underrepresented groups and have diverse backgrounds and experiences.

The purpose of this award is to recognize various forms of mentoring of teachers, including sharing knowledge and expertise, providing support and encouragement, offering feedback on performance, helping to identify opportunities and resources, and serving as a professional role model. The mentorship award, which honors those who mentor teachers, is distinct from the Excellence in Teaching Awards, some of which recognize mentoring of student professional development. The award is not limited to mentoring teachers of psychology, but may include mentoring of teachers in other disciplines. The award is for STP members, and STP encourages applications from colleagues who are from underrepresented groups and have diverse backgrounds and experiences. The recipient will receive $1,500, a plaque, and up to $1,500 to attend the Annual Conference on Teaching during the award year.

Call for Applications

2023 Award Recipient

Dr. Jessica HartnettSeungyeon Lee, Chair the award committee, is pleased to announce that this year’s recipient of STP’s Mentorship of Teachers Award is Dr. Jessica Hartnett, PhD, an associate professor of Psychology and Counseling at Gannon University. She has dedicated a significant portion of her professional life to becoming a better teacher of statistics and supporting her colleagues as they do the same. For the last ten years, she has been the editor of the Not Awful and Boring Ideas for Teaching Statistics blog. She served as the Chair of the STP’s Task Force on Statistical Literacy, Reasoning, and Thinking: Guidelines 2.0 in 2021. The committee was extremely impressed by Dr. Hartnett’s significant contributions she has made both inside and outside of her home institution, including her mentorship work to the STP. Please join us in celebrating her accomplishments at the awards ceremony this October at STP’s Annual Conference on Teaching (ACT)!

Past Recipients

2022: Richard L. Miller, Texas A&M University - Kingsville

2021: Melissa Beers, The Ohio State University

2020:  Judith Bryant, University of South Florida

Call for Applications


Awardee plays an exceptional role in using psychological expertise to mentor teachers that may include the following:

  • The person provides exceptional mentorship to aid colleagues at any level who are developing their skills in teaching
  • The person supports faculty at any stage of their careers (e.g., graduate student teachers, early-career faculty, mid-career faculty, and/or senior faculty) with their professional development as teachers
  • The person provides valuable advice to teachers at any stage on preparing for tenure and promotion, supporting and collaborating with faculty on Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL), and/or any professional training/workshops for teachers

In summary, the award recipient is both a leader and role model for a broad range of teachers across career stages and/or disciplines.

How to Apply

The deadline for applications is February 15 of the award year.   Priority will be given to individuals who have not received the award in the past. STP reserves the right not to make an award if the STP Mentorship of Teachers Award Committee believes no applicant is qualified in a particular year. 

A complete application consists of the following:

  • A two-page cover letter highlighting the applicant’s contributions to various forms of mentorship
  • A full CV
  • Three letters of support, including at least one from a teacher who has benefited from the applicant’s mentorship
  • A letter of support from the applicant’s supervisor (e.g., department chair, dean, program director, or provost)

All application materials must elaborate on perspectives and values added through their mentorship, and letters of support need to complement the applicant’s contribution. 

For further instructions on how to apply, click here (requires login).

If you have questions, please email the Chair of the Mentorship Award Committee

Mentorship Award Committee

Seungyeon Lee (Chair), University of Arkansas at Monticello

Kymberly Bennett, University of Missouri at Kansas City

Arlen Garcia, Miami Dade College

Diane Snyder, Bethany College

Jennifer Willard, Kennesaw State University

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software