Society for the Teaching of Psychology
Division 2 of the American Psychological Association

Society for the Teaching of Psychology - Global Education Summit

Costa Rica, May 23-25, 2019

The Society for the Teaching of Psychology is pleased to announce an exciting opportunity for STP members! STP is coordinating a three-day professional development seminar focused on global education facilitated by experts at the UN mandated University for Peace (UPEACE), Centre for Executive Education in Costa Rica (www.centre.upeace.org). The topic, “Global Education for the 21st Century” is an important and emerging topic for institutions of higher learning. The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) describes the aim of global education to: “empower learners to assume active roles to face and resolve global challenges and to become proactive contributors to a more peaceful, tolerant, inclusive and secure world.”


This seminar will cover over-arching themes relevant to all educators in the 21st century, including but not limited to:

  • Global CitizenshipCase studies, frameworks, hands on tools to enable participants to integrate the values of global citizenship, environmental consciousness, and social justice into their future projects.
  • Education for Social Innovationeducating students to become change-makers who desire to make the world a better place and have the skills to do so.
  • Design ThinkingApplying the principles of design thinking to help implement international partnership goals and build an innovative learning environment for students.

Eligibility: At the time of the registration, all participants must be current members in good standing with STP (APA membership is not required). STP membership ranges from $15-$25 USD. Get more information or join now, here: http://www.teachpsych.org/join/

Dates & Logistics: The STP Global Education Summit will be held May 23-25, 2019.  Each attendee will be responsible for the cost of registration and airfare. STP will provide funds to cover 4-nights hotel lodging for the first 15 registrants. Hotel accommodations for all participants will be at Studio Hotel in (www.costaricastudiohotel.com) and also include a free breakfast.

Registration Instructions: Interested participants must contact the project coordinator, Kelley Haynes-Mendez (khaynes-mendez@thechicagoschool.edu) with a statement of interest and to receive details to register for the seminar. The registration fee is $925 USD.

Meals and Related Expenses:

UPEACE will provide the following, included with the cost of registration

  • Design of the coursecontent including speakers, academic materialand logistical support from UPEACE.
  • Three lunches at UPEACE
  • Transportation to UPEACE to/from the conference hotel
  • UPEACE Centre for Executive Education certificate for all participants
  • Orientation and help in arranging other necessary in-country logistics
Information Sessions:
  • December 11, 2018 at 9am PT/11am CT/ 12pm ET
  • January 14, 2019 at 12pm PT/2pm CT/ 3pm ET 

Please consider participating in one of two online information sessions to hear more information about the summit, testimonials from past attendees, and to ask any relevant questions. You may also send your questions directly to Kelley Haynes-Mendez at khaynes-mendez@thechicagoschool.edu.

To join the meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone, visit: https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/531475645

You can also dial in using your phone:  United States: +1 (646) 749-3112  Access Code: 531-475-645

Joining from a video-conferencing room or system?     Dial: 67.217.95.2##531475645

Cisco devices: 531475645@67.217.95.2

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software